News Detail

Cyber Dons Sweep States in CyberPatriot XII Competition

Loyola Blakefield’s Cyber Science Program once again had a strong showing during the state round of the twelfth season of CyberPatriot — the Air Force Association’s National Youth Cyber Defense Competition — which challenges teams of students across the United States, Canada, and from DoDD schools abroad to find and resolve cybersecurity vulnerabilities in simulated environments. Our cyber students have been competing in this tournament since last October against more than 6,700 other teams.

Led by Director of Cyber Science Steve Morrill, our students excelled in the state round of CyberPatriot XII held during the weekend of Dec. 6–8, demonstrating teamwork, critical thinking skills, and technical knowledge key to a successful career in cybersecurity. “The competition continues to get better each year, which is a testament to the growing number of schools that have recognized this area as a critical need," said Morrill. "Our students have also continued to improve their skills each year, showing their dedication to wanting to make a difference in the world." This year, our program registered a total of 19 teams, the highest number it's ever had in this competition.

Our high school students swept the state in the Open High School Platinum Division, securing the top three spots. We also had a team finish in second place in the Open High School Silver Division. Our younger Dons captured second and third place in Maryland in the Middle School Division (see full list of teams below).

The three teams in the Platinum Division and two teams in the Middle School Division now advance to the semifinal round of the tournament, which will be held the weekend of Jan. 24–25, as they look to qualify for the CP-XII National Finals in March.

Established by the AFA in 2009, CyberPatriot is designed to excite, educate, and motivate students toward careers in cybersecurity and other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to our nation’s future. The CyberPatriot field is divided into three divisions – the Open Division for public, private, and home school teams; the All Service Division for JROTC, Civil Air Patrol, and Naval Sea Cadet Corps teams; and the Middle School Division. Top teams from the preliminary online rounds earn an all-expenses-paid trip to Baltimore for the in-person National Finals Competition, where students compete for national recognition and scholarships.

The Air Force Association is a non-profit, independent, professional military and aerospace education association. Our mission is to promote a dominant United States Air Force and a strong national defense, and to honor Airmen and our Air Force Heritage.


Team Lavender (1st Place)
Manny Spanos
Nathan Prouse
Henry Mackay
Owen Quinn
Zach Hipsley
Benji Rohd

Team Crystal (2nd Place)
Will Erdman
Julian Javillo
Matt Fleschner
Jack Klug
Aidan Brehm
Luke Alonsozana

Team Dons! (3rd Place)
Joseph O'Neill
Chris Fleschner
Anthony King
Jack Wilson
Tony Libertore
Baba Shonaiya


Team Free Agents
Chiekeziem Udenta
Brendan Herwig
Sid Karagiorgis
Anton Hermoso


Team Giraffes (2nd Place)
Teddy Marine
Jack Watcher
Aidan Sachs
Colin McCardell
Ryan Massengill
Michael Litrenta

Team Cyber Combat (3rd Place)
Dimitri Kokkinakos
Elias Jamison
Ryan Porter
Greg Zabora
Casey Nazlerod
500 Chestnut Ave. Towson, MD 21204
Ph: 410-823-0601